Mortara Fellowships

Mortara Fellowships have been made available by Welch Allyn, Inc., to enable young presenters to continue to participate in the CinC meeting when travel costs might otherwise limit abstract submission and attendance. The Fellowships are intended to offset up to $2000 of the cost of attending CinC for successful applicants who are 32 years old or younger, who do not reside in the country of the current year’s conference, who have previously presented their work at CinC, who submit acceptable papers on the topics of ECG or Patient Monitoring, and who do not have adequate funding potential to attend CinC for this year. Applicants for a Fellowship may also enter the Rosanna Degani Young Investigator Award competition.

The full set of requirements is as follows:

  • You must be 32 years old or younger on the deadline for submission (15 April).
  • You may not be a resident of the country in which this year’s conference will take place. In general, the award for residents of the continent in which the meeting is being hosted will be capped at $1500. Residents from all other regions will be eligible for an award of up to $2000.
  • You may not receive a Mortara Fellowship on more than two consecutive years and no individual may receive an award for more than three separate meetings.
  • You must submit a 4 page paper on the topics of ECG or Patient Monitoring, in the proper format (see Information for Authors for details). Examples can be read in previous annual proceedings of Computing in Cardiology.
  • You must submit a separate conference program abstract describing the work presented in your paper, for distribution to reviewers and (if it is accepted) for conference attendees.
  • You must submit proof of eligibility, consisting of:
    • a statement confirming your date of birth, country of residence, and that you have previously attended Computing in Cardiology and have presented at least once (give the year and title of your most recent CinC presentation);
    • a statement confirming that you have inadequate resources to support participation in CinC this year, and outlining the amount of funding required to assist your participation in the meeting, including travel costs in particular;
    • a letter on departmental stationery, signed by your supervisor, confirming the above points and adding any other supporting comments;
    • a brief CV of no more than 2 pages.

Your proof of eligibility must include all four of these items. Scan your supervisor’s letter and collect this supporting information into a PDF file (if possible, other formats are acceptable otherwise; make sure that your documents are legible in whatever format you use). If you are also applying as a Rosanna Degani Young Investigator Award candidate, consolidate all of the supporting information for both programs into a single proof of eligibility file.

  • Upload your 4 page paper, your separate conference program abstract, and your proof of eligibility to the CinC abstract and paper collection site, using the “YIA, Mortara Fellowship, or other early full paper submission” page according to the instructions found there. Be sure to mark the appropriate box on this page to indicate that you wish to be considered for a Mortara Fellowship and/or the Rosanna Degani Young Investigator Award.
  • Proof of eligibility is mandatory and submissions without a proof of eligibility will not be considered. Submissions by email or postal mail will not be considered.

Mortara Fellowship Recipients

Saúl Palacios(Spain), Flavio Palmieri (Spain), Beatrice De Maria (Italy), Syed Hassaan Ahmed Bukhari (Spain)
Vlasta Bari (Italy), Erick Andres Perez Alday (USA), Javier Milagro (Spain), Spyridon Kontaxis (Spain)
2017 Angela Agostinelli (Ancona, Italy), Nuria Ortigosa (Valencia), Faezeh Marzbanrad (Victoria, Australia) 
2016 Alba Martin (Milan), Julia Ramirez (Zaragoza),  Gustavo Lenis (Karlsruhe), Axel Loewe (Karlsruhe) 
2015 Muammar Kabir (USA)
2014Martin Rauber (Ljubljana), Valeria Villani (Rome), Miguel Rodrigo (Valencia), Klaudia Proniewska (Krakow), Gaetano Valenza (Pisa)